Uninformed Opinions

I often avoid using forums for advice.  You will find over half the people giving advice don’t know anything.

I was recently searching as to whether you could heat up a rice hot/cold pack in the oven.  A multitude of people said things like “I suppose you could wrap it in tin foil and put it in the oven”.  I suppose?  So, they haven’t done it.  If they haven’t done it, then its unlikely that anything they say would be useful.  Why on earth would you bother putting in your two cents if your opinion is based solely upon a guess?

It would be like asking the forum how to install flooring and getting a bunch of responses from people who have never installed flooring at all.  You’re just guessing.  Why bother putting your guess in there?  Someone like me has to scroll through the 99% nonsense of everyone’s guesses just to see if there’s anything valuable in there.  I wish they would keep their stupid opinions to themselves.

People who don’t know what they’re talking about, like to dispense knowledge.  Why?  I really couldn’t say.  When someone asks me about something I don’t know, I tell them I don’t know.  If they press me for an opinion, I either refuse, or I make sure to give a disclaimer that this is not knowledgeable information, it is merely a guess.  I don’t give advice if I haven’t done it, or haven’t seen it done.

I know in this day and age people feel like their comments or opinions are welcome on every single subject or written article.  Their opinions are not welcome, and when you have such a stupid opinion that was obviously made without any intelligent thought or information, then the opinion is REALLY not welcome.  Our society has become opinionated in the worst way; as opinions are formed without any knowledge whatsoever.

I find this disturbing, and pathetic.  Especially when you know for a fact you know the answer, and the other person doesn’t, yet they’re still arguing with you.  Please, don’t be one of those people.